If you don’t set a goal, you won’t reach it!

I like setting short-term and long-term goals in the gym, and at work.  Set ’em, achieve ’em, and then set new ones!

Try this.  I think you’ll like it!  Set a long-term goal, perhaps for the end of the Summer; then set incremental, achievable goals that inch you toward the long-term goal.  If you approach your goals in this manner, you can achieve them!  There’s nothing more to it than that, really; but while we’re on the subject, here are a few thoughts:

  • Don’t be afraid to seek professional help from people who have ‘been there and done that!’  This can be from of a personal trainer, a certain series of articles that you should trust completely (aka http://www.SevenMealsADay.com), or seeking advice from a fellow gym rat.
  • Throw a party every time you achieve a short term goal!  Take time to have fun.  Reward yourself.
  • Make the goals objective.  ‘Looking pretty’ is subjective and elusive, so that’s not a good goal.  Set measurable goals, and don’t worry a single whit about your appearance.  My guess is, someone thinks your beautiful.  Ignore the voices that say otherwise!

 

In case you’re curious; here are my goals for the end of the Summer:

  1. Clean and press 225 lbs at least once.  I used to clean this, then press it 5 times but that was before I trained for a 1/2 marathon.
  2. Squat 315 lbs at least 10 times.  My Personal Record is 15.
  3. 12 wide-grip chins with 45 lbs strapped to my waist.  My PR is 9.
  4. Bench 225 at least 12 times.  My PR is 16.
  5. Do all this with no drugs and no hormone supplements.

One subjective goal, behind these objective long-term goals, is to gain 15 pounds of muscle by the end of August.  This would be an impossible goal under most circumstances, but I’m currently 50 pounds below my peak size (or should I say ‘favorite size’) of 6’4″ 275 pounds.
IE:  I’m relying on muscle memory to help get this 50-year-old body back to 240!
That’s the unedited truth about what I hope to achieve in the gym this summer!  I’ll keep track of my progress on Facebook, and I’ll share a few challenges that I haven’t mentioned here –  Challenges, not excuses.  These goals are as good as done!

How about you?  Please share your goals here and on Facebook.  If you write them down, you’ll have visible target to shoot for.  If you share your goals with the world, you’ll be more likely to make a serious attempt at achieving them.